Sign In

FAMU SJGC Alumna Inducted into the 2020 Academy Class

By Aiyana Ishmael

Staci CollinsStaci R. Collins Jackson has been selected to join and be a Voting Member of The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences; the prestigious, invitation-only global organization of only the most accomplished film executives, filmmakers and artists working in film across the world. Voting Members decide the nominees and winners of The Academy Award®— also known as The Oscar®. In addition to celebrating and recognizing excellence in filmmaking through voting for The Oscars®, the world's preeminent movie related organization supports a wide range of initiatives to promote the art and science of the movies, including public programming and educational outreach.

“The Academy is delighted to welcome these distinguished fellow travelers in the motion picture arts and sciences. We have always embraced extraordinary talent that reflects the rich variety of our global film community, and never more so than now,” said Academy President David Rubin in a press release.

Jackson was the only African-American selected to join the organization’s Marketing & PR branch’s incoming Class of 2020.

She is CEO of The Collins Jackson Agency PR firm and prior to leading PR campaigns for Oscar® nominated films including Mudbound and Harriet and box office hits including Girls Trip, the Think Like A Man film franchise, Ride Along 2, Shaft and the highly anticipated upcoming Coming 2 America starring Eddie Murphy to name only a few; Jackson was Director of Communications at Harpo Studios and publicist for Oprah Winfrey. Earlier in her career, she was Vice President of PR at Ebony and Jet magazines.

Jackson holds a Bachelor of Science in Journalism from Florida A&M University (FAMU), a Master of Arts Management in Arts, Entertainment & Media Management from Columbia College and completed the executive programs at UCLA, Harvard Business School and Stanford University.

The veteran PR executive is also a Voting Member of The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, the organization that votes for The Emmys®.

"Staci Collins Jackson's induction into The Oscars Academy Class of 2020 is a monumental achievement,” said SJGC Dean Bettye Grable. “She is representative of the outstanding caliber of well-trained students who graduate from FAMU's School of Journalism and Graphic Communication."

During her time at FAMU she held several campus queen titles, was Secretary of State of The Student Government Association, was an advisor to Miss FAMU and Her Royal Court and held leadership roles in other organizations on campus including the Beta Alpha Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. She is now a Life Member and Chairman of the International Honorary Members & Awards Committee for her sorority.

“I spoke at length with Ms. Collins Jackson last week,” said Dean Grable. “We reminisced about her stellar work in a PR class I taught. She particularly mentioned Dr. Valerie White and me as two of the many professors she recalls in the SJGC. Dr. White and I are extremely proud of her accomplishments.”

She was honored by her alma mater as one of FAMU’s Top 40 Alumni Under 40 at its Young Alumni Awards ceremony in 2010 and gave the keynote address for FAMU’s 2013 Homecoming Convocation.

“I am elated to join the magnitude of talent in The Academy’s Class of 2020. It is an honor to be a member of this elite global group. My leadership roles at FAMU and education from the School of Journalism, Media & Graphic Arts definitely prepared me for my career in the entertainment business,” said Jackson.

The 2020 class is made up of 45% women, 36% underrepresented ethnic/racial communities, and 49% international from 68 countries. Jackson is joined by 818 other artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures.

In 2016, the Academy set specific inclusion goals as part of its A2020 initiative to double the number of women and underrepresented ethnic and racial communities in the organization by 2020.

Jackson now is a part of an elite membership that will vote for the Oscars. She is joined by several notable names including actresses, Zendaya Coleman, Cynthia Erivo, and actor, Kelvin Harrison Jr.

The Academy recently announced the next phase of its equity and inclusion initiative, Academy Aperture 2025, which will further the organization’s ongoing efforts to advance inclusion in the entertainment industry and increase representation within its membership and the greater film community. The initial phase of Academy Aperture 2025 outlined specific goals for the Oscars® and Academy governance, membership, and workplace culture.

Official Article Here