Sign In

FAMU Journalism Student Wins Florida Broadcasters Award

This article originally appeared on FAMUNEWS.COM on May 21, 2020

Titilayo Okuwa

Florida A&M University (FAMU) senior broadcast journalism student Titilayo Okuwa set herself a goal of winning an award for her work. Mission accomplished.

Okuwa won first place in the politics and government category from the Florida Association of Broadcast Journalists for reporting and producing as part of the multimedia series “Race To 20.” She won in the college category.

“I am thrilled that I finally won an award,” Okuwa said. “I tried to hit the ground running when starting at FAMU, and with the help of mentorship from Professor (Kenneth) Jones, I am now an award-winning journalist.”

The production of “Race To 20” compiled projects that follow the 2020 election cycle and will culminate with the Election Special on Tuesday, November 3, 2020. The School of Journalism & Graphic Communication (SJGC) has been producing multimedia election coverage since the 2000 election.

The winning stories cover the topics of ballot changes and the impact on voters, effects on the election from Generation-Z, and coverage of the impeachment process. Okuwa continues to work tirelessly to produce, film, and edit content that is at the core of local, state and national races.

Professor Jones said he is pleased to see another generation of students excited about political coverage and doing award-winning work.

“Titilayo winning the first-place award is another jewel in SJGC’s now 20 years of producing political and election coverage,” Jones said. “This is a testament to her and our other students’ work as they enhance their skills.”

The Florida Association of Broadcast Journalists (FAPJ) is a not-for-profit organization that engages broadcast journalism professionals. Being a member allows many benefits, one being an opportunity to submit work at either the collegiate or professional level showcasing individual or group journalism skills.