Sign In

Student Zoom Meeting Social Distancing Course Registration Process Staci Collins FAMU SJGC Lands Coveted Hearst Award for Second Consecutive Year


COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus) Update

The School of Journalism and Graphic Communication (SJGC) along with Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University are monitoring the COVID – 19 (Novel Coronavirus) pandemic closely.  In response to federal, state, local, and health agencies, FAMU and SJGC are open for business, as usual, with many faculty and staff working remotely.  Even with this situation, SJGC faculty, staff, and administration have been working tirelessly to ensure that all students are still provided the attention, resources, and support needed to be successful this semester.  It is SJGC’s mission that students are able to progress and maintain their path to graduate within four years of entering the University as freshmen SJGC majors.

To stay on track for a successful semester, SJGC students should communicate directly with their professors and academic advisors about all issues concerning their courses, advising, and any extenuating personal issues that may hamper their success.  This is a very stressful time for all, including our students, and SJGC is dedicated to assisting you with navigating your concerns and questions.

The safety and health of all students, faculty, staff, and our community are the top priority during this time.  Please ensure that you follow all health and safety regulations and guidelines.  For the most updated information regarding Florida A&M University and COVID – 19, please check your FAMU email frequently and refer the FAMU COVID – 19 Update webpage.

We can always be reached at (850) 599-3379 but preferably at

Contact Information

Thank you for visiting our School of Journalism & Graphic Communication website.

Due to safety precautions related to the Novel Coronavirus, we are practicing social distancing guidelines. Therefore, our response time to your inquiries may take longer than desired.

Please leave a voice message for our staff at (850) 599-3379 and we will return your call within 24 hours. You may contact us by writing to us at and we will respond to you within 24 hours.

We are happy to respond to you at a telephone number you provide or, if you prefer, we will respond to you at an email address. PLEASE KNOW THAT YOU ARE IMPORTANT TO US and that we look forward to hearing from you.

Florida A&M University and the School of Journalism & Graphic Communication are closely monitoring the Novel Coronavirus (COVID - 19) pandemic. The University and the School of Journalism & Graphic Communication remain open for business even as we carefully observe federal and state safety and health protocols. The administration, faculty and staff in the School of Journalism & Graphic Communication have been working around the clock to implement processes that will enable student success.


As you may be aware, we have transitioned to online teaching and learning. Administrators, faculty and staff are currently working remotely to accomplish the many activities assuring that the School of Journalism & Graphic Communication is continuously "moving forward". During the fall 2020 semester, most SJGC classes will be taught online with selected courses being taught face to face.

We encourage our students to communicate directly with their professors and academic advisors. When completing the Summer 2020 semester and preparing for the Fall Semester, students are urged to check the FAMU Registrar's website for important information related to their continued matriculation at Florida A&M University.

Students please remember to:

  1. Follow health protocols and advisories as you go about your day-to-day lives.
  2. Check your FAMU email regularly.
  3. Visit the FAMU Coronavirus website for updates at -

YOUR HEALTH and YOUR WELL-BEING is our top priority.